Fresh squeezed grapefruit juice…easy peasey!

image

In preparation of the final season premiere of (one of the BEST shows ever) Breaking Bad, the Husband & I have been having mini-marathons every night, re-watching all the previous seasons to refresh our memory for the “grand finale”. In one episode from season 2, Walt (aka Walter White, main character, best meth cook ever) is trying to suck up to his (annoying, most-disgusting-eater-ever, bitchy, selfish, ugly, self-centered, hateful) wife Skylar by making homemade breakfasts. He happens to make fresh grapefruit juice one time & I couldn’t help thinking “I’ve never tried grapefruit juice as a drink before…it’s pretty delicious when you’re eating a grapefruit, the tiny bit of sugary-tarty juice you get…I wonder what it would be like to have a whole, cold glass of that.”

I referenced everyone’s “go to” source of information, Google, in search of a recipe. Shockingly I couldn’t find one for plain, simple, yummy grapefruit juice. There were plenty for grapefruit juice smoothies & limeade+grapefruit juice & orange juice+grapefruit juice & all sorts of other concoctions. I know what you’re thinking…how hard is it to make juice? Squeeze the fruit, bada bing-bada boom. Except…when we first wanted to make homemade lemonade we tried it without a recipe. Turned out not so refreshing. Then (after a couple more misses) we found a recipe for THE best lemonade I’ve ever had. I wanted my grapefruit juice to be right so this time I tried to go by a recipe…to no avail. “Guess I’ll have to invent my own.” was my exact thought.

So yesterday at the grocery store I picked up 4 big ol’ grapefruits. This morning I had to take my Husband to work super early (we’re talking 6am early) & for some reason when I get up that early I usually get an energy burst. I came home, broke out the hand juicer, and got down to business. I have to say…I’m pretty proud of myself! For the first time ever making it, my grapefruit juice turned out JUST like I imagined in my mind. Finally, after the most drawn out recipe-creation-explanation-EVER….here is my very own grapefruit juice recipe.

Homemade Grapefruit Juice

4 large grapefruits (= 2 2/3 c. juice)
1/2 c. water
1/4–1/3 c. sugar, depending on your fondness for sweetness

Cut your grapefruits in half; it doesn’t matter if you cut them the “right way” or not, they juice the same. Use your juicer (electric or hand) to squeeze every last drop of tart juice out of them. Add your water & sugar (and if desired a little pulp–like I did–but be sure to remove any seeds first) & stir until mixed well. You may have to slightly adjust the amount of water and/or sugar to your liking…following this recipe made juice that was exactly what I wanted. Note: this recipe doesn’t make very much so if you’re wanting a lot of juice you probably want to double (maybe even triple) it. The final yield for these measurements is 3 1/4 cups.

5 thoughts on “Fresh squeezed grapefruit juice…easy peasey!

  1. What a coincidence. I Googled this because I, too, have to wake up early to drive my SO somewhere, and my plan was to pick up some ingredients on the way back. Your recipe seems simple and perfect and I’m glad it was the first one I clicked on! I love grapefruit but eating them is just too messy for my taste. Grapefruit juice is the perfect vehicle for getting my fix, and now I’m about to try making it myself! Can’t wait, thank you!

  2. Would this work with yellow grapefruit, as well as pink? Also, can you make large quantities of it and bottle it? I have a huge tree of them and I am the one who eats grapefruit!!

  3. I completely forgot where I got my grapefruit juice recipe from. It’s from here! I’ve been using it regularly for almost a year and it’s perfect. Its origin just completely slipped my mind. Thanks again, 3babydux!

Leave a comment