Poor Philip.

I was super sad to learn of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s passing yesterday. I was taken by surprise that it was due to an apparent heroin overdose, as he was found in the bathroom with a needle still in his arm. He was a great actor & it is disheartening to think about the fact that he’s now gone forever. It brings to mind the likes of Paul Walker, Heath Ledger, James Gandolfini…the list goes on and on. It always bothers me, these sudden and unexpected deaths. It’s like there is a hole waiting to be filled but never will be.

My favorite Hoffman films are ‘Twister’, ‘Boogie Nights’ and ‘Capote’. I also enjoy the majority of his appearances in anything, actually. He was one of a kind & really owned whatever role he picked up. He brought something unique to his roles and the movies he appeared in wouldn’t be the same without him…he definitely made an awesome impact on Hollywood. I will miss seeing his wonderful work & I hope he is at peace from whatever demons drove those needles into his arms.

RIP Philip.

image

****As time marches on the public is learning more & more about Philip S. Hoffman’s last days & more detailed information about his sudden demise. When we learn new information sometimes we have to mold, elaborate or change our opinions entirely. I was not aware that Philip had struggled with addiction before, around the age of 22. He managed to overcome it for the past 23 years, which is quite a feat. It seems to me that something pretty huge must’ve occurred in his life that triggered a relapse in December 2013. Considering his baby mama & long-time girlfriend Mimi O’Donnell recently “asked him to move out”, I’d be willing to bet he relapsed due to extended, deep, personal issues with her. Not at all implying that it’s her fault or she’s to blame in any way…but…left to his own devices…possibly (probably) upset & unhappy about things going on in his life…it’s no wonder to me that he relapsed. Or, if he’d already relapsed some time ago but started hitting it harder to counteract depression/negative emotions. I completely understand her not wanting their children exposed to anything drug related; paraphernalia, his behavior while high/jonesing to be high, drug dealers coming & going, yadda yadda. And I don’t know the private details of their interactions (for instance if she tried to help him with love, talking, support, etc). It just seems kind of cold to me that after 23 hard won years of beating a nagging addiction, when he falls off the wagon he’s kicked to the curb. Of course she couldn’t of known the outcome but surely–if she held any concern for him at all–the possibility of what did happen had to of crossed her mind at some point. If it were me I know I’d be carrying a lot of guilt & regret, which may or may not be right…but I would. To see the last photos taken of Mr. Hoffman, go here. Nothing offensive of course (like his deceased body or some such nonsense), just the last photos taken of a man who needed help…they are sad indeed.

Leave a Reply

