Pinterest post #3: DIY Dishwasher detergent

I was so excited to come across this pin & immediately added it to my list of “Pinterest stuff I want to actually do ASAP”, and made sure to get the ingredients-which happened to be required by a couple other pins I was trying.  I had just run out of Cascade (perfect timing) & I was super hopeful about this pin because dishwasher detergent is ridiculously expensive.  So I made a batch of the DIY exactly as it stated (very simple…all it takes is borax + washing soda, then some white vinegar when you actually run the dishwasher) & used it, exactly as it stated.

image

-Insert drumroll here-
The dishes all came out amazingly, sparkling clean!  There was no particular scent other than clean-ness but I overlooked that (I’m a “smells” person…if it smells clean then I feel like it’s clean) because the dishes came out beautifully clean using a pennies-on-the-dollar mixture!  Here was my pros list:

•worked excellently
•ingredients were relatively cheap
•ingredients could multi-task for other pins
•very simple to make
•very quick to make
•would most likely have ingredients on hand to make more when I ran out as opposed to having to go to the store

The cons were:

•no awesome Gain-like smell

Happy as a clam I started using this DIY mix regularly.  Never once did I change my typical “dish habits”, even with the first run.  I will usually rinse really dirty dishes off under scalding hot water before putting them in the dishwasher; the rest just go straight in.  I don’t hand wash them then put them in or anything like that.  I kept an eye on my rinse agent level too because that’s where you put the vinegar.  Now, after a few weeks of using this mix, I’ve begun to notice there is always a film on my dishes when they’re finished.  I’m very displeased & disappointed with this latest development.  Is it some sort of build up from the borax and/or washing soda??  Should I be running some sort of cleaning cycle periodically??  I’ve tried troubleshooting this problem…I’ve made sure I filled the rinse agent with vinegar; I’ve added extra vinegar to the bottom; I’ve cut back the recommended amount (2 Tbsp) of mix; I’ve added a tiny bit more mix; I’ve rinsed the dishes off a little more than usual; I’ve run a second rinse cycle after the regular cycle.  Nothing is working.  No matter what I try I simply cannot bring back the glory I first experienced.

image

It is not from food, or me being lazy & throwing in dishes with sandwiches & the like still on them.  It is a soap type residue.  If I take a damp towel or rag (which I’ve been having to do unless I want to hand wash every single dish) it buffs right off.  Maybe I need to “splurge” and get some actual rinse agent?  I guess I’d still be saving money on the detergent but it would be counteracted by having to purchase the $4-$5 rinse agent!

I’m not sure whether to classify this as a scam or not…I don’t know if it’s just my experience…it does work-in the beginning-so it’s technically not a scam.  You can find the original pin & instructions HERE, until I decide whether or not to move it to my Bullsnit Pinterest Scams board.  Go try it (borax & washing soda are each $3-$4 per box) and PLEASE share your results with me!!  This is obviously driving me nuts.

4 thoughts on “Pinterest post #3: DIY Dishwasher detergent

  1. Thanks! I did check out your blog (liked your post about your boy turning the big 3!) but i didn’t see any details about the Liebster Awards. Of course WPress was being a jerk at the time so I’ll have to check again. Anyway, thanks for the like & thanks for the nomination!

  2. The recipe you tried seems to be missing the citric acid. You can either find actual citric acid (usually near canning supplies in the market), a product called LemiShine, or even lemonade drink mix.

Leave a Reply

