Pinterest Rant #1 (oh yes there’s many more to come. I’m exposing Pinterest.)

Anymore when I get on Pinterest I look at all the different pins & I wonder “Will that really work?”.  I don’t know if that’s just me being a pessimist or if others wonder the same thing.  And I say “anymore when I get on” like I’m some veteran of Pinterest when in reality I don’t think I’ve even been joined (a member? Signed up? Whatever.) a full month yet.  When I did join I was overwhelmed at all of the awesome, mind boggling shit on there!!  A face mask to clear acne using only baking soda & orange juice?  Heck yes!  A pin with 365 different crock-pot recipes?  Jackpot.  Make your own paint with flour?  Hooray!  That’s not even the tip of the tip of the iceberg, I just can’t think of any more right now.

So anyway I didn’t want to be a “lazy Pinner” where I just sat here & virtually hoarded all kinds of awesome ideas & recipes; I vowed to start trying them.  I mean…what’s the point in pinning them for later if you never do them?  First up was a cool science experiment type of pin that we had all the stuff for & I figured my kids would like.  It was how to make a glow stick bottle using mountain dew, baking soda, & peroxide.  Check, check, check.  We even watched the video these 2 guys posted where they demonstrated how to do it.  So we tried it and (insert drumroll here)…..nothing.  Tried again; hey, maybe we messed up.  I know it’s hard to imagine but stranger things have happened.  Nothing again.  Made sure we had all fresh ingredients & tried again.  Nothing.  So I was starting to get pissed & we re-watched the video.  In the comments I began noticing several people saying they thought the guys had added something because of some fishy hand movements; every single person said it didn’t work.  Plus I noticed at the end he has wayyy more mountain dew than when he started.  Like…way way more.  I ended up leaving a comment on the video & instead of cussing like others had chosen to do I called them jerks & tried to make them feel like the assholes they are for disappointing little kids, which I know for a fact they did in my house & I’m sure a lot of other people’s too.  Then I went back to Pinterest & added “Pinterest Scam” to the pin so people would know.  If more people would actually try this shit & then scam tag it if it doesn’t work, maybe we can stop Pinterest’s decline into a spam wasteland.  Because it’s on the horizon people.  It is coming.

4 thoughts on “Pinterest Rant #1 (oh yes there’s many more to come. I’m exposing Pinterest.)

  1. It’s a scam dear, this was an old urban legend at least 20 – 30 years ago. It keeps coming back like a bad chain letter. I’m sorry it didn’t work for you and your kids sake. I bet they were excited too. Darn idiots don’t think a trick might not only cost some folks a few bucks but can be a big letdown on the kids.A great site for experiments is on you tube under “Grant Thompson 🙂

    1. Thanks, I was sorry too. And you’re absolutely right…it costs people money & can be a huge let down…what’s the point in that?? I will definitely check out the YouTube site, thanks for the tip!

  2. I gotta say I agree with you. Pinterest is becoming ruined by people selling things. The same thing happened with Ebay. Remember how awesome it used to be when it first started? You could find ANYTHING for pennies. Now it’s all wholesalers (most of whom are overseas) and overpriced items.
    My other gripe with Pinterest is the “repurposing” and “upcycling.” Yeah yeah yeah…we know you’re the planet’s greatest savior because you don’t let things go to waste, but really – some of this stuff is just like, huh?? A pallet??? Who decided a dirty pallet would make for great decor? I don’t want one anywhere near my home, let alone as a headboard on my bed! It’s the emperor’s new clothes with so much of the stuff we see on there.
    I tried a liquid starch ghost project for Halloween with my kids. Pinned and repinned by so many of Pinterest’s lemmings. So I thought we’d give it a go. Total flop.

Leave a Reply

